How to Disarm system via automated process?

Information and support for EnvisaLink modules.

Moderators: EyezOnRich, GrandWizard

imagineerBurky
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2014 9:00 am

How to Disarm system via automated process?

Post by imagineerBurky »

I have a highly automated home that is computer controlled. As part of my automation I would like to disarm my EnvisaLink3 when my garage door opener is activated (which I can sense), so that we can enter the house without having to key in the disarm sequence.

Is it possible to send a command from my home automation computer to the EnvisaLink interface on the same LAN, at address 192.168.20.90, that will enter my passcode and disarm the system?
:)
fbarrou
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 10:17 am

Re: How to Disarm system via automated process?

Post by fbarrou »

imagineerBurky wrote:I would like to disarm my EnvisaLink3 when my garage door opener is activated
I strongly advise you against it....you're kind of downgrading the protection that your alarm system is giving you. A thieve only needs to steal your garage opener to enter freely to your home.
imagineerBurky
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2014 9:00 am

Re: How to Disarm system via automated process?

Post by imagineerBurky »

I understand your concerns, but I have simplified the environment in my post, rather than clutter it with unnecessary details. There are several other "certification" actions involved to qualify that it is really us, making this a pretty secure action.

I am confident and comfortable that I have considered the risks and find them to much much less than ALL of the other ways a perp could get in with low risk, including just walking in the garage door (which is normally unlocked) rather than bothering to open the overhead door!

Thus, if a way is possible to achieve what I want to do, it greatly improves our lives, in general. ;)
GrandWizard
Posts: 2319
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2010 4:08 pm

Re: How to Disarm system via automated process?

Post by GrandWizard »

Just use the TPI, that's what it was created for. The protocol documentation is on the forum at...

http://forum.eyez-on.com/FORUM/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=301
blakem
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 8:00 am

Re: How to Disarm system via automated process?

Post by blakem »

You could also use the local API by getting the URL at

http://192.168.20.90/2?A=4&p=1&X=1234

Where 1234 is a valid user code

Don't forget about the times someone leaves a car parked outside with an opener inside.
imagineerBurky
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2014 9:00 am

Re: How to Disarm system via automated process?

Post by imagineerBurky »

Thanks all for the helpfull feedback. I had discovered the TPI manual last night, but downloaded the incorrect one. Thanks to your feedback today I realized my error and got the Ademco guide (which is significantly different) I was busy coding up a Checksum routine, and see that I don't need that. :D

This is exactly what I needed.

BTW- Thanks for all the "perp" alerts but as I said before my disarm approach is NOT as simple as I posted to keep unnecessary detail out of my inquiry. There is a complex sequence of timed events that must occur in order to qualify a 'disarm'. It is NOT just opening the garage door. Besides none of our vehicles have remote openers in them. They are all integrated into the vehicle electronics, so a perp would have to steal a car, and on top of that, know the timed sequence of things that must happen.

Not likely, and way more secure that the home is anyway. We're not talking about Fort Knox here. ;)

Thanks for the help.
imagineerBurky
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2014 9:00 am

Re: How to Disarm system via automated process?

Post by imagineerBurky »

OK.

The TPI interface looks like the perfect way to go, BUT I'm missing something as I can't get past the login.

When I open a socket to the EnvisaLink I get the expected response of "Login:" but when I then send my password string (eg, 00werty) I either get another...

Login: or, I get a

Login:
FAILED

response. The password I am using is the same as I log into my system via the web at...
https://www.eyez-on.com/EZMAIN/login.php

I am only sending the pw string. There are no CR of LF or ETX terminators (which is what the TPI Pgm Guide seems to indicate).

Can anyone advise what I may be missing here?

Thanks.
K-Man
Posts: 145
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2012 1:08 pm

Re: How to Disarm system via automated process?

Post by K-Man »

The password should be terminated with a CR. I thought this was in the docs but now that I look at the version published on the eyez-on forum it doesn't seem to indicate this.

Anyhow, you need a CR.

Also, the TPI has nothing to do with eyez-on so you need to use your Envisalink password which by default is "user".
imagineerBurky
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2014 9:00 am

Re: How to Disarm system via automated process?

Post by imagineerBurky »

K-Man

You ARE da man indeed.

Thanks very, very much. I was pulling my hair out over this (and I'm pretty much bald so I really didn't need any more losses!)

I'll give your feedback a try.

The doco is really BAD in this one. It does not indicate the need for a record terminator, and it says that the password is the one you use to sign into your web page (which is NOT "user").

Thanks again!!!
imagineerBurky
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2014 9:00 am

Re: How to Disarm system via automated process?

Post by imagineerBurky »

K-Man

Didn't work.

I did discover that the pw= "user" definately doesn't work. That was the initial default, but I changed it upon installation. I get a FAIL when I try that but when I "Login" and then send my current pw terminated with a CR I get a "Login:" response back.

Can't seem to get past this dual "Login:" response.

I"m using the EnvisaLink on a Honeywell ADEMCO controller, so the plain ASCII strings should be the right approach and no checksum at the end is needed.

I just tried a CR/LF termination sequence but that didn't help either.

Can you give an example of the exact strings you are sending to the EnvisaLink to make it work?

For example I am sending (between the quotes)
"Login"
"00werty\013\010" (where the 013 and 010 are translated to CR and LF by my Socket com routine).

I get a "Login:" response back, to both of those transmissions. I've even tried waiting 2-5 seconds between Sends in case the EnvisaLink is not able to respond too quickly, but it makes no difference. I've also tried just a CR terminator without the LF, but again it makes no difference.
Post Reply