EnvisAlarm Crash and Smash protection

Information and support for EnvisaLink modules.

Moderators: EyezOnRich, GrandWizard

mmbridges

EnvisAlarm Crash and Smash protection

Post by mmbridges »

Can anyone describe if and how EnvisAlarm protects against "crash and smash" attacks? This is where the intruder makes his way to the alarm panel and destroys it before the outgoing alarm can be transmitted.

Mike
GrandWizard

Re: EnvisAlarm Crash and Smash protection

Post by GrandWizard »

EnvisAlarms are transmitted within 50 milliseconds of an alarm on the panel.

Assuming the thief breached an instantaneous zone, the worst case communication time (assuming all primary communicators fail) is one second.

How fast is this hypothetical crash and smash thief?
mmbridges

Post by mmbridges »

Thanks for the quick reply and forgive me if I don't use the right terminology as I am new to the field. So what I have read is that typically there will be a delay between when a zoned sensor state changes and when a "alarm" gets sent to the monitoring center. Some of this delay is intentional to give time for you to turn off your alarm when you come home. So maybe this is relevant to your "instantaneous zone" reference.

Suppose the breach occurs at the garage/mud room door, which is set to be a "non instantaneous" zone, i.e. intentional delay of D seconds from time door is opened to when the code has to be entered to disarm the system. I am considering a DSC PC1864 + Envisalink 2DS + EnvisAlarm so here are my questions:

1.) Between the point at which the zone sensor state changes, call it t0, and D seconds later, what information gets sent to EnvisAlarm? (i.e. during to < t < t0+D)

2.) After D seconds (i.e. during t > t0+D), what information gets sent to EnvisAlarm?

3.) If the intruder yanks the Ethernet cable out of the 2DS during this intentional delay period (i.e. during t0 < t < t0+D) how does EnvisAlarm respond?