Enisalink 3 and Bandwidth Usage

Information and support for EnvisaLink modules.

Moderators: EyezOnRich, GrandWizard

pirateradio

Enisalink 3 and Bandwidth Usage

Post by pirateradio »

Hello, brand new user here, and i have a question about the bandwidth that the Envisalink 3 might be using and if there is a way to control that.

Background:
Cut my landline, ran my internet cable to my alarm panel and installed my Envisalink 3 on a Vista 20P last week. Configured it myself, even though I am a novice (it took a few reads of the install guide). Anyway, EVERYTHING WORKS, and I can control the unit, turn the alarm off on, all zones are showing, etc. I am using it on Cox Internet (cable) in San Diego. I am MORE than pleased with the product, and have been touting it's benefits to many people.

My issue though, is that I am thinking it is on regular intervals sucking up my bandwidth. I have come to this conclusion because I have had the same internet service, router, devices, voip, etc for many many years with never any bandwidth issues. Now though, through out the day it seems on regular internvals when I am talking on my Vonage line - my primary work line that I am on almost all day, every day for years, there are regular times when my voice is completely garbled for about 5 seconds, people say "are you there - can't here you" etc, and always after 5 seconds or so all is normal again.

Since absolutely NOTHING has changed (devices, internet speed, etc), except the introduction of the Envisalink 3, I am assuming that this is the cause of the problem. I have never had any issues with Vonage until the introduction of the Envisalink. It almost seems that the Envisalink is on a regular basis sending information to it's servers, and this is when my voip line is disrupted, then all is normal until the next "communication". Anyway, that is my thinking.